PCI DSS Update – New Merchant Levels!!

While it is still unofficial it seems that we will finally see the release of new merchant levels as defined under the PCI DSS.  The new standard will eliminate the confusion between channels (i.e. current merchant levels 2-4 are based on electronic-channel-transactions, those that occur online, and level 1 was for any channel) by eliminating the differentiation.  This means that no matter how a merchant accepts a credit card they will be required to meet the appropriate levels of the standard.

Generally this means we will see PCI DSS be applicable to more merchants.  The validation requirements will not change for each level, but that still means that remote auditors will see an increase in validation requiring customers.

I will post a link to the site once it is posted.

Best regards,
James J. DeLuccia


3 responses to “PCI DSS Update – New Merchant Levels!!

  1. send the updates on PCI DSS

  2. Ritesh,

    Here is the link for the updates I posted regarding the changes to the payment card industry standard (PCI DSS) v.1.1. https://pcidss.wordpress.com/2006/09/18/payment-card-industry-changes-reviewed-by-james-deluccia-iv/

  3. I really enjoyed this page. I will be linking and I will be trying to read and research all that there is to offer from this site!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s